Margrit Zimmermann

* 07. 08. 1927

The composer, pianist, conductor and music educationalist Margrit Zimmermann was born in Berne. She studied piano in her hometown under Jeanne Bovet and composition under Walter Furrer with further studies under Denise Bidal and Alfred Cortot in Lausanne. She continued her studies at the Ecole Normale de Musique in Paris, simultaneously studying composition under Arthur Honegger, and received her diploma in piano in 1952. After 1952, Margrit Zimmermann trained as a conductor under Ewald Körner in Berne and participated in master courses headed by Igor Markevitch in Monte Carlo and Hans Swarowski in Ossiach. Following several years of teaching activities, she then undertook studies in composition with Aurelio Maggioni and Umberto Rotondi at the Giuseppe Verdi Conservatory in Milan, where she received the "Diploma di composizione" in 1978. It was here that she also completed a course in opera conducting under the tutelage of Umberto Cattini.
In 1973 Margrit Zimmermann founded an orchestra in Berne, taught and worked as a conductor and composer. She has received numerous prizes and awards for her works including the "Jubiläumsstiftung der Schweizerischen Bankgesellschaft" award in 1986, the city of Unna's first international female composer's competition award and the city of Kassel's female composer's award, both in the same year. She received an honour from the Japan International League of Artists in Tokyo in 1989. Margrit Zimmermann's multifaceted oeuvre encompasses works for chamber orchestra, voice and symphonic orchestra as well as ballet music and solo works for piano, string and wind instruments, and guitar. "My music is atonally traditional, that is to say, I write for traditional instruments in traditional notation using my own symbols in order to allow the performers room for individual interpretation. I am continually searching for new sound and melody combinations that are based on certain principles."
During her activities as a composer, Margrit Zimmermann has created a quarter-tone system.

Margrit Zimmermann
c/o Iris Gerber
Postgasse 32
CH-3011 Bern



Bianchi-Neri, op. 36 (1984)
für Klavier
Order No: 18301, sFr. 34.00
6 excercises for piano, booklet 1: Eléments; Jeux; Berceuse; Capricieux; Ombre; Arléquin.

Cloccachorda, op. 40 (1987)
for piano
Order No: 18302, sFr. 26.00

Piano Time, op. 46 (1987)
for piano solo
Order No: 18303, sFr. 21.00
Listen: Youtube

Quadriga, op. 51 (1987)
for piano
Order No: 18304, sFr. 34.00


Werke der Schweizer Komponistin Margrit Zimmermann
Zimmermann, Margrit:
Piano Time, op. 46 (1987) pour piano seul
Quadriga, op. 51 (1987) für Klavier
Pensieri, op. 31 (1984) für Tenor, Gitarre und Flöte
Quartetto d'archi Nr. 1, op. 7 (1979-1982)
Orphische Tänze, op. 43 (1986) für Flöte, Klarinette, Bratsche, Violoncello und Klavier
(Hanny Schmid Wyss, Klavier)

Edition SFM 890 699
SME/EMS Order Nr.: 215
Price CHF: 20.-

Schweizer Musik - Home
Musique Suisse - Home
Swiss Music - Home

automatically generated. last update: 28.08.2015 / 2004 Theo Lustenberger