Paul Glass


Paul Glass was born in Los Angeles. In 1956 he received his diploma from the University of Southern California. At that time he studied with Boris Blacher, Ingolf Dahl and Hugo Friedhofer. He later studied with Goffredo Petrassi in Rome, Roger Sessions in Princetown, and Witold Lutoslawski in Warsaw. In 1962 he returned to the United States where he wrote music for film and concerts. Whilst in England in 1965 he wrote the music to Otto Preminger's film 'Bunny Lake is Missing'. He later spent four years in France where he familiarised himself with the work of Anton Webern. In 1973 he settled in Switzerland near Carona in Tessin. Today he teaches music theory and composition at the 'Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana' in Lugano, gives courses at Franklin College im Sorengo and continues with his own compositional work.
Glass has received commissions from (German radio and television) WDR (Cologne), 'The Musica Mendrisiotto Association', 'Settimane Musicali di Ascona', and 'Pro Helvetia'. His genius has been acknowledged in the form of awards from the Los Angeles Chamber Symphony, Broadcast Music Incorporated, Warsaw Department of Culture, and the Swiss Music Edition. He has also received distinctions from the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers.

Paul Glass
c/o Müller & Schade AG
Moserstr. 16
CH-3014 Bern
Fon: +41 (0)31 320 26 26



Paul Glass
Paul Glass:
Sinfonia No 3
(Orchestra sinfonica Nazionale dell'Ucraina; Oleksandr Barvinskij)
Quartetto I
Cinque pezzi per pianoforte
(Patricia Pagny)
Lamento dell'acqua
(Orchestra della Radiotelevisione della Svizzera Italiana; Marc Andreae)

Grammont CTS-P 43
SME/EMS Order Nr.: 31
Price CHF: 30.-

Schweizer Musik - Home
Musique Suisse - Home
Swiss Music - Home

automatically generated. last update: 28.08.2015 / 2004 Theo Lustenberger