Marc-André Rappaz


Marc-André Rappaz was born in Lausanne. Following studies at Geneva Conservatory in violin, viola and theory of harmony he deepened his education in composition under Alberto Ginastera and later under Witold Lutoslawski. On completing undergraduate studies he had as much interest in humanities as he did in the natural sciences, poetry and language sciences, physics and mathematics. Two years of mathematics and physics at the University of Geneva has left little impression on his compositions, but they did encourage him to deepen his knowledge of the aesthetic connections between music and science. He organised meetings with Benoît Mandelbrot and György Ligeti at the festivals 'Archipel' (Geneva) and 'Musiques en Scène' in Lyon, where he also participated. Parallel to his activities as a composer Marc-André Rappaz teaches theory of harmony and music analysis at Geneva Conservatory.

Marc-André Rappaz
31 rue Saint-Josef
CH-1227 Carouge
Fon: +41 (0)22 342 49 88


Stances sur "La mort de Marie" (1992/93 (rev. 2000))
for two percussion and violin
Order No: 10113, sFr. 21.00
Based on 'Jamais la mort ne délira / Le noeud dont ta beauté me lie' by Ronsard. The second part is an improvisation over a group of short cells.

"de Dschember Schamblin" (1997)
for soprano and guitar
Order No: 10118, sFr. 21.00
A piece based on a cycle of poems in Romansch, taken from the cycle ‘Dschember Schamblin’ by Denise Mützenberg.

Haïku (1997)
for marimba solo
Order No: 10121, sFr. 16.00
Based on a haïku by Shiki Masaoka (1867-1902): "The storm / During mid-day / has broken the mallow stalk." and a haïku by Kyoshi Takahama (1854-1959): "A serpent escaped. / Its eyes which were watching me / remained alone in the grass." This piece is built in the classical structure of the haiku. Alternating between rubbing of the bars, gliding of the mallets in the tube and slow / very fast movements. The poems are spoken in Japanese by the marimba player.

Solitude (Une femme chaque nuit voyage en grand secret) (1999)
for piano
Order No: 10122, sFr. 13.00
Based on the poem 'L'univers-solitude' from 'La Vie immédiate' by Paul Eluard.

Dialogues pour Orchestre (2000)
Order No: 10124, sFr. 57.00
This work is inspired by the promenades and talks in the gardens of Jinan, capital of the Chinese province Shandong. This is especially apparent in the pianissimi and the big divisi of the strings and sounds and its alternating impression.


Dutilleux, Rappaz, Ligeti: Streichquartette
Henri Dutilleix: Ainsi la Nuit
Marc André Rappaz: Quatuor sur un Poème de Christian Morgenstern "Der Tod"
György Ligeti: Métamorphoses Nocturnes

Musiques Suisses MGB 6158
SME/EMS Order Nr.: 52
Price CHF: 30.-

Centre International de Percussion
Franco Donatoni: Mari II
Lou Pelosi: 10 Inventions
Marc-André Rappaz: Stances
Jean-Claude Schlaepfer: Instances III
Fritz Hauser: Zytraffer
De-Qing Wen: Kung Fu
(Centre International de Percussion de Genève)
Franco Donatoni: Madrigale
(Choeur d'enfants de la Radio Hongroise; Centre International de Percussion; Giorgio Bernasconi)

Musiques Suisses MGB CTS-M 81
SME/EMS Order Nr.: 43
Price CHF: 30.-

Schweizer Musik - Home
Musique Suisse - Home
Swiss Music - Home

automatically generated. last update: 28.08.2015 / 2004 Theo Lustenberger